Melissa Vogt. Photo by Kimberley Mead.

Melissa Vogt. Photo by Kimberley Mead.


The Dragonfly Princess

by Chad Salvata
Directed by Bonnie Cullum
Presented by Ethos & VORTEX

This magical quest is an adult faery tale about a mythic faery realm, with some elements based loosely on Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad and Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne.

As the story of The Dragonfly Princess unfolds, Faery Princess Mala, and Joji, her companion, set out on the dragonfly, Xéphera, and fly up the river to discover the source of the interruption in the flow of magical Pearls through the land. They search for Vyn, a Faery Priestess, who previously controlled the Pearls, but has disappeared into the Wild. Along the way, they encounter killer mosquitoes, powerful faeries, and a prophetic oracle.


Melissa Vogt, Betsy McCann, Michelle Fowler-Amato, Mick D’arcy, Briana McKeague, Emerald Mystiek, Kristine Olson, Kira Parra, Ensemble: Patricia Robinson, Leigh Shaw, Tricia Storie.


Directed by Bonnie Cullum, Lighting Design by Jason Amato, Set Design by Ann Marie Gordon, Costume Design by Chad Salvata, Emily Clay & Talena Martinez, Sound Engineer by Roy Taylor, Production Photos by Kimberley Mead.


B. Iden Payne Award for Outstanding Original Score;
B. Iden Payne Nomination for Outstanding Lead Actress in Music Theatre: Melissa Vogt


Ethos is renown for its award-winning cybernetic operas, including The X&Y Trilogy (The Black Blood, Panoptikon, and Triskelion) and Elytra. Chad Salvata, award-winning composer of Vampyess, Pythia Dust, Elytra, and The X&Y Trilogy, is the visionary creator of this world premiere fantasy opera. Salvata has also manifested extraordinary performance installations including bell(e), hole, Black Tower, The 13 Circles, and HyperZoo. The Dragonfly Princess provides a lush, original musical score, dynamic performances, and extraordinary visual designs.

Ethos is funded in part by VORTEX Repertory Company, the City of Austin under the auspices of the Austin Arts Commission, and the Texas Commission on the Arts.