Jo Beth Henderson, Melissa Vogt, and Eryn Gettys

Jo Beth Henderson, Melissa Vogt, and Eryn Gettys


Pythia Dust
A Musical Interstellar Voyage

By Chad Salvata
Directed by Bonnie Cullum
Presented by Ethos in association with The VORTEX


The adventurous crew takes the audience on a journey through the galaxy aboard the Spaceship Pythia Dust. On their travels they encounter diverse planets and landscapes and delve into magical experiences. Their whimsical songs, sexy stomps, and romantic ballads create a magnificent journey with an award-winning score by Austin composer/creator Chad Salvata.


Jo Beth Henderson, Melissa Vogt, and Eryn Gettys.


Featuring Salvata’s trademark lush imagery, sci-fi design, and over-the-top scenarios. Lighting Designer Jason Amato, Scenic Designer Ann Marie Gordon, Sound Designer Roy Taylor, and Costume Designer Shannon Mott. Directed Bonnie Cullum, co-created the choreography with Jo Beth Henderson.


In September 2013, Ethos Artistic Director, Chad Salvata reunited three Ethos stars from the past 15 years in CyberFest, a retrospective of his work. The remarkable reunion of JoBeth Henderson, Eryn Gettys, and Melissa Vogt created one of the most memorable moments in CyberFest as they performed “Chime” from Pythia Dust. As all three performers worked on Ethos’s original film, Octia of the Pink Ocean, the sparks began to fly about a reunion performance. As the conversations continued, the enthusiasm from the designers, musicians, and the trio of divas grew. Imagine experiencing these three powerhouse leads all together again onstage! The re-creation of the magical vocal arrangements and harmonies is certain. The re-invention of choreography and design holds infinite potential. A new production features live music by a new band starring Chad Salvata himself on keyboards and synths as well as Tyler Mabry on keyboards and Matthew Patterson on drums.

Funded and supported in part by a grant from the Texas Commission on the Arts and by the Cultural Arts Division of the City of Austin Economic Development Department.